The “Before” Tour {Master Bedroom}

Our bedroom window faces West, so the room gets scorching hot in the evenings. It’s somewhat long and narrow; one wall is mostly windows, and another is mostly doors.

WSP_2117

{please note the lonely wedding photo on this wall}

We have a bathroom (middle door) and 2 closets (the doors on either side). One closet is a narrow little walk-in, and the other is very shallow with bi-fold doors. At 17 inches deep, it’s too small to hold clothes, so we recently turned it into a shoe closet. Sounds pretty fancy, huh? =)

WSP_2108

In reality, it’s not that glamorous, but supremely practical. The drawers hold Garan’s socks, and we’re still trying to figure out how to best use the top shelf. We hide our laundry basket and some office supplies in here as well.

WSP_2115

This is the dresser from the bedroom suite my parents bought for me when I was little.

The picture is a gift from my sister. It’s from Kirklands a few years ago, and it’s called Penumbra II by Nydia Lozano. I love it because it reminds me of Christine from The Phantom of the Opera. It was originally over $200, but she scored it for $20! She’s pretty much awesome.

WSP_2136

Our bed currently sits on this wall, but we would like to get a headboard at some point and put it in front of the window. I think it would open up the entire space a lot better. The bedspread is something I picked up just after we got married. It’s worked well, but bed-in-a-bag really isn’t my style, so I bought this one with some money I got for my birthday. I have another Cracker Barrel quilt on the bed in the spare room, and I love it!

WSP_2123{See my poorly painted swatch up there?}

My bedside table is a dinky (ugly) little thing I got off craigslist. I was going to paint it, but it’s too small for my needs anyway, so we’re working on making a new one from the Farmhouse Bedside Table plans from Ana White.

WSP_2128{yes, those are car parts!}

Eventually, we’ll get around to replacing Garan’s bedside table with the same thing. I got his current table from a little local shop called The Purple Leaf. I had plans to strip the piece and stain it, but I never got around to it. Now the bottom drawer won’t go back in it correctly. =)

WSP_2101

Moving on around the room, you’ll see my favorite piece of furniture in the house. This little writing desk is almost 100 years old. It sat in the foster home Garan’s paternal grandmother grew up in, and last year, Garan’s parents had it refinished for our birthdays. We love it!

Here’s what we’ve done so far:

  • Put up curtains and rods
  • Reworked the little closet

Wow, that’s a little underwhelming! =)

The to-do list:

  • Paint (Revere Pewter by Benjamin Moore)
  • Rearrange the layout
  • Buy a headboard
  • Make new bedside tables
  • Hang blackout blinds
  • Hang some photos and/or art
  • Replace the bedspread and pillows

I can’t wait to show some updates in this space!

xo, Amanda Marie

Leave a comment